Hans Christian Andersen Awards

Hans Christian Andersen Awards

Biennially, IBBY UK nominates a British author and an illustrator for the Hans Christian Andersen Awards, which are the most prestigious in the international children’s book world. The awards are presented to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature. Nominations are made by each national section of IBBY. A jury of international children’s literature specialists selects the recipients of the award.

The author’s award has been presented since 1956 and the illustrator’s award since 1966. Great authors and illustrators from all over the world have been honoured, including a number from the UK.

Hans Christian Andersen Awards 2020: IBBY UK Nominations

IBBY UK are delighted to announce that our nominations for the 2020 HCA Award are John Agard (writng) and Helen Oxenbury (illustration). These were selected by the committee from a shortlist of nominations by members and have both accepted the nomination.

You can read the full nomination portfolio’s for John Agard here and Helen Oxenbury here.

The shortlists for the awards were announced in January 2020. Click here to download the PDF of the 2020 HCAA Shortlist.

Hans Christian Andersen Awards 2018: IBBY UK Nominations

Author Melvin Burgess, noted for his sometimes controversial work for young adults, and the talented illustrator Jane Ray, have been nominated by IBBY UK for the international Hans Christian Andersen Awards 2018. Melvin and Jane have each been writing and illustrating for children and young people for more than 20 years.

Melvin’s 1996 book Junk won both the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize and the Carnegie Medal, an achievement shared by only five other writers. Its unflinching portrayal of the lives of young squatters in 1980s Bristol is widely recognised as extending the boundaries of fiction for young adults. Read his nomination portfolio here.

Jane is as adept illustrating her own texts as she is the work of other writers. She is perhaps best known for her luminous and intricate illustration of traditional tales and her sensitivity to culturally diverse ways of looking at the world. Read her nomination portfolio here.

Pam Dix, Chair of IBBY UK, said: ‘We are very excited to be nominating two such highly respected contributors to the UK children’s literature world, and look forward to working with them during the nomination process and holding an event with them later in 2017.’

Five books for each nominee are submitted for consideration by the jury. The books, chosen by Melvin and Jane and IBBY UK from all their work, are:

Melvin Burgess: Bloodtide, The Cry of the Wolf, Junk and Lady, all published by Andersen Press; and Kill All Enemies, published by Penguin.

Jane Ray: Ahmed and the Feather Girl, Frances Lincoln; The Little Mermaid and Other Fishy Tales, Boxer Books. Illustrations for Kevin Crossley-Holland, Heartsong, Orchard Books; Berlie Doherty, Classic Fairy Tales, Walker Books; and Carol Ann Duffy, The Lost Happy Endings, Bloomsbury.

The shortlists for the awards were announced in January 2018. You can see a short film here about the shortlisted candidates in both categories.

2018 Awards

The 2018 winners are: Eiko Kadono of Japan for Writing and Igor Oleynikov of Russia for Illustration. The Awards will be presented to the winners at the 36th IBBY World Congress, in Athens, Greece in September 2018. Congratulations! You can read more about the winners here.

2016 Awards

Our UK nominations for 2016 were Elizabeth Laird and Chris Riddell. You can download Elizabeth’s nomination portfolio here and Chris Riddell’s nomination portfolio here.

The 2016 awards were won by Cao Wenxuan from China and Rotraut Susanne Berner from Germany. The medals were presented at the 35th IBBY World Congress in Auckland, New Zealand in August 2016.

View list of all 2016 nominees

2014 Awards

Our UK nominations for 2014 were John Burningham and Jacqueline Wilson. You can download John’s nomination portfolio here and Jacqueline’s nomination portfolio here.

The 2014 awards were won by Nahoko Uehashi from Japan and Roger Mello from Brazil. The medals were presented at the 34th IBBY World Congress in Mexico City, Mexico in September 2014.

2012 Awards

Our UK nominations for 2012 were Philip Pullman and John Burningham.

The 2012 awards were won by María Teresa Andruetto from Argentina and Peter Sís from the Czech Republic. The medals were presented at the 34th IBBY World Congress in Mexico City, Mexico in September 2014.

View list of all 2012 nominees

Past UK winners of the Hans Christian Andersen Awards

1956: Eleanor Farjeon
2000: Anthony Browne
2002: Quentin Blake
2002: Aidan Chambers
2010: David Almond

Further information can be found on the IBBY website

Registered Office: 71 Addiscombe Court Road, Croydon, CR0 6TT | The IBBY UK Section is a Company Limited by Guarantee: Company number 7892957; Registered Charity number 1145999. |  Our Privacy Policy | Website designed and developed by Osomi