Winners of the 2020 IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award

by | May 4, 2020 | IBBY NEWS

Marit Tornqvist

Marit Tornqvist (Photo credit: Kim Forchhammer)

 Zhu Yongxin

 Zhu Yongxin

On 4th May, IBBY International announced the winners of the 2020 IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award: Marit Törnqvist from the Netherlands and Zhu Yongxin from China. Marit Törnqvist is a writer and illustrator who has developed reading programmes for children that focus not only the story, but also on the experience of reading itself and on encouraging children to narrate and illustrate their own stories. Zhu Yongxin is a well-known scholar who has devoted his life to continuous research and activities related to reading promotion, including training and programmes for children in rural areas and children with special needs, the vulnerable and those living in remote areas of China.


  • Films from the virtual IBBY Press Conference can be found here.
  • The full media release can be downloaded here.
  • More information on the IBBY-iRead Award can be found here.