IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award Shortlist 2020

by | Mar 19, 2020 | IBBY NEWS

We are happy to announce that the short film made to highlight the 2020 HCA shortlisted nominees is now posted on YouTube. Please share on your social media platforms and websites.

The announcement of the winners of the 2020 Andersen Awards, the IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award and the IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award will be made on Monday, 4 May at 2:30 CET — watch for all updates!


Read more about the shortlist for the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Award here – the world’s most prestigious award for the creators of children’s and youth literature

Hans Christian Andersen Award 2020 Shortlist:

Authors: María Cristina Ramos from Argentina, Bart Moeyaert from Belgium, Marie-Aude Murail from France, Farhad Hassanzadeh from Iran, Peter Svetina from Slovenia, and Jacqueline Woodson from the USA.

Illustrators: Isabelle Arsenault from Canada, Seizo Tashima from Japan, Sylvia Weve from the Netherlands, Iwona Chmielewska from Poland, Elena Odriozola from Spain, and Albertine from Switzerland.

Thank you to all those involved with the production of this short film, in particular the nominees, the jury president Junko Yokota and the national sections who helped with the translations. And of course Nami Island Inc., the sponsor of the HCA Award, for making this possible.

Please share the news with all your members and friends.